Leave a comment

Michael Crabtree – Is He A Stud Or Dud?

 

Michael Crabtree – Stud or Dud?

First off let me just say that I am a huge Michael Crabtree fan and have been since his days at Texas Tech. My favorite Crabtree moment was when the Red Raiders beat then #1 ranked Texas 39-33. I was in Boise, Idaho at the time visiting a friend. We were at PF Changs which is like a sports bar in a college football town like Boise State (Broncos). I looked up at the screen and noticed Texas Longhorns were about to win. I knew Crabtree was on fire at the time and wouldn’t let that happen.

The Red Raiders were losing  33-32, Tech made their way into Longhorns’ territory with only 8 seconds left on the clock. Texas Tech QB  Harrell threw a pass to Crabtree in double coverage inside the 10-yard line. Crabtree made a spectacular catch, juked a defender on the sideline, and ran into the endzone for the game-winning touchdown with a second left in the game. All of the PF Changs customers stood up and gave Crabtree a standing ovation and the cheers were loud.

There was something in the air that night and even though I already knew Crabtree was an amazing player that game just put him over the top for me. When draft day came the 49ers had an early pick at pick 10 in the first round. Crabtree’s name was being thrown around and he was being  hyped up. I thought for sure he would be gone before our 10th pick.

Crabtree had foot problems and surgery so I think many teams didn’t want to take the chance. When I heard the 49ers were up next and I saw Crabtree still on the board I could not believe it. I knew he would be a 49er somehow. I still think he is the correct first round pick and that Crabtree will only get better.

I have heard a lot of talk on TV and on message boards about how people think Crabtree is a flop. I have heard people asking to trade him. Sure he had his moments where people thought he was a diva and got mad at him holding out. When you are picked 10th in the first round people expect that player to come out and become a star in year one. That is not always the case.

Remember Crabtree is still healing from his foot injury and this is not something that can just go away. Even Antonio Gates has been struggling and  missing games with his similar foot injury. I believe i heard recently that Crabtree said he feels 100% and the foot is doing much better.

If you really look at what Crabtree does on the field during any regular season game he is contributing. He has made some spectacular catches and made Alex Smith’s passes look better then they were on a few TD passes. You can’t really go by Crabtree’s numbers because not only has he missed a lot of preseason games, missed practice due to the lock out, but the 49ers playbook didn’t really allow an air attack.

How can you expect Crabtree to have high numbers and setting records when most of out play calling is running the ball or a 5 yard slant passes using the West Coast Offense. I think Coach Harbaugh has a little more trust in Alex and we will be throwing the ball a lot more this coming season. I don’t know how many times Crabtree will be targeted since we added Moss, Manningham and now Jenkins. You have 4 studs hungry for the ball.

From what I have seen of Michael Crabtree and what I have seen him do in the past at Texas Tech I say he is a stud and he was worth the first round pick. Crabtree’s number were pretty darn good last season considering all of the factors. I think Crabtree’s numbers will be even more impressive this coming season. His best days are ahead of him and I hope he will stay healthy and retire as #15 for the 49ers.

I think this coming season is going to big for all of our offensive weapons. Alex Smith has so many weapons to use that he can’t fail by throwing or handing off to anyone that he chooses.

 

 

Cons

Okay so I am a fan and of course I will say he’s a stud. Well here are the cons I have about Crabtree.

  1. Slow getting off the line
  2. Hard time getting open
  3. Dropped passes when it counts
  4. Failed Routes

 

Now in his defense of my cons he does have an injured foot and that can slow him down off the line. The foot could also keep him from speed bursts and getting open. As for the dropped balls in big games, we have seen what he did in college so it wasn’t nerves getting to him I just think it was an off day and we all have them. I have seen Crabtree run the wrong route and blame Alex for a bad throw. This issue is because Alex and Crabtree need to hang out a little more and become buddies. I don’t think they are on the same page at times.

 

______________________________________________________________

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment